Pakistan cricket team chief selector Shahid Afridi has announced the squad to play the ODI series against New Zealand.

On Thursday, Chief Selector Shahid Afridi told a press conference in Karachi that the squad includes Babar Azam (Captain), Haris Rauf, Tayyab Tahir, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Imamul Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Muhammad Hussain, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Waseem Jr., Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Aung, Shah Nawaz, Shan Masood Tayyab Tahir and Osama Mir are included.

Shahid Afridi said that he is happy that Fakhar Zaman and Haris Sohail have regained full fitness, but Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi were not included in the squad due to fitness reasons.

He said that they are going to replace Shadab Khan with Osama Mir who is in good form these days.

He said that apart from bowling, Osama Mir also does good batting and fielding.

Asked about any controversy regarding team selection, Shahid Afridi said that players who have shown good performances have been selected.

It should be noted that the series between Pakistan and New Zealand consisting of three one-day matches will start from January 9.

The first match will be played at the National Cricket Stadium, Karachi, while the second match will be played on January 11 and the third on January 13 at the same stadium.